Skip to content
InSearch

Search & assistant · Atlassian Rovo pricing

Atlassian Rovo pricing: what Rovo costs, how Rovo credits work, and Rovo Dev pricing

Rovo pricing confuses people for a good reason: there is no Rovo line item to look up. Atlassian folded Rovo into the paid Cloud plans, so the question "how much does Rovo cost" has no single answer. It costs whatever your Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management plan costs, and then it is rationed by a pool of AI credits rather than by a seat count.

One search · cited answers · permission-aware

Answer Console
Demo · sample data
Try
Sources

Ask your company anything

InSearch searches across Drive, Slack, Notion, Confluence, Gmail, Jira and Salesforce in one query and returns a written answer with citations, only ever from sources you're allowed to see.

Drive Slack Notion Confluence Gmail Jira Salesforce
↓ one clear, cited answer

Searching connected apps

Working

Answer

Only sources you have access to
Sources

Interactive demo · sample data, no app connected

Every answer cited to its source documents · permission-aware · never trains on your data

SHORT ANSWER Last updated August 2026

Atlassian Rovo has no separate per-seat price. Read from the Atlassian Rovo pricing page on August 16, 2026: Rovo, including Search, Chat, and Studio apps as well as agents, is available to customers with a Standard, Premium, or Enterprise Cloud plan, and no separate Rovo purchase is required. What you actually pay for is the Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management plan underneath it, plus a monthly pool of AI credits that governs how much Rovo you can use. Atlassian does not publish the per-tier credit allowance on that pricing page, which is the single most important thing to know before you budget. The one part of Rovo with an open number is Rovo Dev: $20 per developer per month including 2,000 Rovo Dev credits, with additional usage at $0.01 per credit. If your answers live outside Atlassian, in Slack, Drive, Notion, Gmail or Salesforce, that is a different product, and InSearch is built for it.

That second half is where budgets go wrong. Teams read "included at no additional cost", assume unlimited, and then discover the pool is smaller than the way they wanted to use it. The credits are consumed by exactly the things people find useful: a Rovo Chat question, an agent run, a Deep Research job. Heavier usage burns the pool faster, and the pool is shared across the whole organization rather than handed out per person.

This page separates what Atlassian actually publishes from what only third parties report, because on Rovo credits that distinction matters more than usual. The plan inclusion and the Rovo Dev numbers come straight from the Atlassian pricing pages and are quoted here. The per-tier credit allowances that circulate widely do not appear on any Atlassian page we could retrieve, so they are labeled as secondary throughout rather than presented as fact.

The short version for a buyer: if your company already runs on Atlassian and your questions are about Jira tickets and Confluence pages, Rovo is genuinely good value and you should use it, because you are largely already paying for it. If your answers are scattered across Slack, Google Drive, Notion, Gmail and Salesforce, or if you need predictable per-seat cost rather than a metered pool, the fit is worse and the credit math gets uncomfortable quickly.

DRIVE SLACK NOTION CONFLUENCE JIRA SALESFORCE

Cited to source docs

Permission-aware · never trains on your data

Why it works

What your team gets with Atlassian Rovo pricing

Included, which is not the same as free

Rovo ships with Standard, Premium and Enterprise Cloud plans and needs no separate purchase. You still pay for Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management underneath, and a credit pool decides how much Rovo you actually get to use.

Credits are the real price

Rovo Chat questions, agent runs and Deep Research jobs all draw from one monthly pool shared across the organization. Budget the pool and the usage pattern, not the seat count, because the seat count is not what runs out.

Rovo Dev is the one open number

Rovo Dev Standard is $20 per developer per month with 2,000 credits included and $0.01 per credit beyond that, quoted directly from the Atlassian Rovo Dev pricing page. Everything else is governed by allowances Atlassian does not publish.

What it handles

One search, a cited answer, scoped to you

InSearch searches across every connected app, checks your permissions, and writes one clear answer with citations back to the exact source documents.

  • Separates what Atlassian publishes from what only third parties report
  • Explains why "Rovo is included" does not mean unlimited Rovo
  • Gives the Rovo Dev price, included credits and overage rate as published
  • Works out what an org-wide credit pool means at a real team size
  • Says plainly where Rovo is the right call and where it is not
ANSWER Cited

Written answer

Full-time employees get 20 days of PTO per year plus 10 company holidays1, requested in Workday with manager approval2.

Only sources you can access

CF People Handbook · Time Off [1]
DR PTO-request-process.pdf [2]
Drive · Slack · Confluence Never trains on your data

Why InSearch

One search across every app, with a cited answer

Not eight separate search boxes, not a wall of blue links. InSearch unifies your apps and returns one written answer with citations, scoped to exactly what you can see.

One search, every app

Drive, Slack, Notion, Confluence, Gmail, Jira and Salesforce searched in a single query, so you stop opening a different search box for each tool.

A cited answer

A written answer in plain language with inline citations back to the exact source docs, so you can trust it and verify it instead of reading a page of links.

Permission-aware

It inherits and enforces each source's access controls at query time, so every person only ever sees answers from content they can already open. It never trains on your data.

Compared

Atlassian Rovo pricing by plan, and what the credit pool actually limits

Every cell is labeled by source. PUBLISHED means it was read from an Atlassian page on August 16, 2026 and is quoted. REPORTED means the figure circulates widely in third-party write-ups but does not appear on any Atlassian page we could retrieve, so it is not stated here as fact.

Plan Cost of the plan itself Rovo access Monthly AI credits per seat What to watch
Jira / Confluence / JSM Standard REPORTED: Jira about $7.91 per user per month, Confluence about $5.42, JSM about $20 per agent. Atlassian list prices move, so price your own quote PUBLISHED: included. "no separate Rovo purchase is required" REPORTED: 25 The smallest pool. At 50 users this is a shared 1,250 credits a month for the entire organization
Jira / Confluence / JSM Premium REPORTED: Jira about $14.54 per user per month, Confluence about $10.44, JSM about $51.42 per agent PUBLISHED: included REPORTED: 70 Roughly triple the Standard pool for roughly double the plan price. The usual reason teams upgrade is credits, not features
Jira / Confluence / JSM Enterprise Not published. Quoted by Atlassian sales, annual billing PUBLISHED: included REPORTED: 150 Still a pool, not unlimited. Ask for the allowance in writing during the negotiation
Teamwork Collection REPORTED: about $13.08 per user per month Standard, about $28.08 Premium PUBLISHED: included Bundle of Jira, Confluence and Loom with a larger Rovo allowance The bundle exists largely to sell a bigger credit pool. Compare it against upgrading a single product to Premium
Rovo Dev Standard PUBLISHED: "$20 per developer / month" Separate purchase, developer tooling rather than workplace search PUBLISHED: 2,000 Rovo Dev credits per developer PUBLISHED: additional usage at "$0.01 per credit". A 30-day free trial exists and there is no permanent free tier
InSearch Published per-seat pricing on our pricing page, in US dollars Cross-app search and cited answers are the product, not an add-on Not credit-metered. You are not rationed per question We do not search Atlassian better than Atlassian does. We search everything else alongside it

Prices change and allowances change faster. The inclusion wording and the Rovo Dev figures were read from atlassian.com on August 16, 2026 and are quoted verbatim. The per-tier credit numbers are widely reported but were not retrievable from any Atlassian page, so treat them as a planning estimate and confirm the allowance for your own tier with Atlassian before you commit a budget to it.

Is Atlassian Rovo free?

No, but it is included. Rovo has no separate per-seat charge for customers on a paid Standard, Premium or Enterprise Cloud plan of Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management. The Atlassian pricing page states that Rovo, including Search, Chat, and Studio apps as well as agents, is available to those customers and that no separate Rovo purchase is required. So there is nothing extra to buy, and for a team already paying for Atlassian the marginal cost of turning Rovo on is zero.

The word doing the work is "included" rather than "unlimited". Rovo usage is governed by an allowance, and the Atlassian support documentation is explicit that Rovo usage is governed by your subscription tier and the number of users on your base subscription. The pricing page also refers to two distinct quotas of Rovo usage. In other words the price is capped, and so is the product.

Free trials do exist. You can evaluate Rovo through a trial of a Standard, Premium or Enterprise plan of Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management, and Rovo Dev has its own 30-day trial. What does not exist is a permanent free Rovo tier for a company that is not already an Atlassian customer.

How much does Atlassian Rovo cost?

Rovo costs whatever your underlying Atlassian plan costs, and nothing on top of it. That means the honest answer to "how much does Rovo cost" is a range that depends entirely on which product and tier you are on, how many seats you have, and how heavily you use the AI features. There is no Rovo line item to quote.

Worked through at Standard tier using the widely reported allowance of 25 credits per seat per month, a 50-person organization has a shared pool of 1,250 credits. Reported credit consumption puts a Rovo Chat question or an agent run at roughly 10 credits and a Deep Research job at roughly 100. That works out to about 125 chat or agent requests per month for the entire company, or twelve Deep Research jobs. Spread across 50 people, that is around two and a half questions each per month.

That is the number worth sitting with before you plan a rollout, and it is why the honest framing here is not "Rovo is free" but "Rovo is included and rationed". Reported allowances of 70 credits on Premium and 150 on Enterprise change the arithmetic considerably, which is why teams that adopt Rovo seriously tend to end up upgrading tiers. Price the upgrade, not the add-on, because the upgrade is the actual cost of using Rovo properly.

One important caveat in the other direction, and it is a genuine point in favor of Atlassian: as reported in mid-2026, Atlassian is not currently billing for usage above the included allowance, requests over the pool still go through, and Atlassian has said it will give at least 90 days notice and require an explicit opt-in before overage becomes billable. That is a customer-friendly position. It is also a temporary one by its own terms, so do not build a three-year budget on it.

How many AI credits do you get with Rovo?

This is the question the entire Rovo pricing decision turns on, and it is the one Atlassian does not answer on its pricing page. We checked the Rovo pricing page and the Rovo billing documentation on August 16, 2026. Both describe the mechanism, that usage is governed by subscription tier and user count, and that there are two distinct quotas, without publishing the per-tier numbers.

The figures in circulation are 25 credits per seat per month on Standard, 70 on Premium and 150 on Enterprise, for Jira, Confluence and Jira Service Management subscriptions. Those numbers appear consistently across third-party pricing write-ups and appear to be accurate, but every trail leads back to secondary coverage rather than to an Atlassian page. This site does not state competitor figures as fact when it cannot source them, so treat 25, 70 and 150 as a planning estimate and get your own allowance confirmed in writing.

The mechanics are better documented and matter as much as the number. Credits pool across the whole organization rather than being allocated per person, which cuts both ways: a few heavy users can consume the pool that a hundred light users were meant to share, but occasional users cost you nothing. Credits reset at the end of each billing cycle and do not roll over, so an unused allowance is simply lost.

Practically, that makes Rovo capacity planning an exercise in forecasting your heaviest users, not your headcount. If three analysts start running Deep Research jobs daily, they can exhaust a mid-sized Standard pool on their own. This is the opposite of how per-seat software behaves, and it catches teams out.

What happens when you run out of Rovo credits?

As of the most recent reporting in 2026, nothing breaks. Requests above the included monthly allowance still go through, and Atlassian is not billing for that overage. Atlassian has committed to at least 90 days notice before any overage becomes billable and has said it will require an explicit opt-in rather than switching customers into paid overage automatically.

That is unusually generous, and it deserves to be said plainly rather than buried. It also means the practical experience of hitting the cap today is mild, which is exactly why so few teams have noticed the cap exists.

The risk is in the planning horizon rather than in this month. A commitment that can be withdrawn with 90 days notice is a good reason to adopt Rovo and a poor reason to assume its economics three years out. If Rovo becomes load-bearing for your support or engineering workflow and the overage policy changes, you are renegotiating from a position where the tool is already embedded. The sensible posture is to use it, measure your actual credit consumption from the admin billing view, and know what that consumption would cost if it were billed at the Rovo Dev rate of $0.01 per credit.

Rovo Dev already works that way, which makes it the best available preview of where the rest may land. It includes 2,000 credits per developer per month and charges $0.01 per credit beyond that, with extra usage auto-enabled by default specifically so that hitting the limit does not interrupt work.

How much does Rovo Dev cost?

Rovo Dev Standard is $20 per developer per month, quoted directly from the Atlassian Rovo Dev pricing page, and it includes 2,000 Rovo Dev credits per developer each month. Usage beyond that allowance is charged at $0.01 per credit. New Standard customers get a 30-day free trial, and there is no permanent free tier, although Atlassian has indicated it may gradually extend limited monthly Rovo Dev credits to some customers on qualifying Jira Cloud plans.

Worth being clear about what this is, because the name causes confusion in evaluations. Rovo Dev is a coding assistant for developers, not the workplace search and chat product that the rest of this page is about. If you are comparing Rovo against enterprise search tools, Rovo Dev is not the thing you are comparing, and its $20 price is not the price of Rovo.

It is still useful as a signal. Rovo Dev is the only part of the Rovo family where Atlassian publishes an allowance, an overage rate and a price together, and the fact that the model is 2,000 credits at $0.01 apiece gives you a defensible way to put a dollar value on the credits in the rest of the family. At that rate the reported 25-credit Standard allowance is worth about 25 cents per seat per month, and the 150-credit Enterprise allowance about $1.50. Whether those are the right internal transfer prices is arguable, but it is the only published rate that exists.

Atlassian Rovo pricing vs InSearch: an honest comparison

Start with where Rovo wins, because on its home ground it is not close. If your company runs on Atlassian and the answers you need are in Jira tickets, Confluence pages and Jira Service Management queues, Rovo is included in a plan you already pay for, it understands Atlassian object models natively, and the marginal cost of switching it on is zero. No third-party tool beats included-and-already-paid-for. If that describes you, use Rovo, and this page has done its job by telling you to.

The comparison only gets interesting when your answers are not in Atlassian. Most companies keep the decision in a Slack thread, the customer commitment in Salesforce or Gmail, the spec in Google Drive or Notion, and only the ticket in Jira. A tool that indexes the ticket returns a quarter of the answer confidently, which is worse than returning nothing, because nobody knows what is missing. InSearch connects Drive, Slack, Notion, Confluence, Gmail, Jira and Salesforce in one query and writes an answer with inline citations back to the exact source documents.

The second difference is the cost model rather than the cost. Rovo rations by credits from an org-wide pool that resets monthly and does not roll over, so the more useful your team finds it, the sooner it runs out, and heavy users consume the allowance meant for everyone. Per-seat pricing behaves the opposite way: adoption is the thing you want, and nothing punishes you for it. Which model is better depends genuinely on your usage shape, and for light, occasional use the credit pool is cheaper.

The third is permissions timing. InSearch inherits item-level permissions from each connected source and re-checks them at query time for whoever is asking, so a revoked permission takes effect immediately rather than at the next sync. That matters most when you point search at HR, finance and legal content rather than only at the engineering wiki.

The fair thing to weigh against us: Atlassian is a large public company with a support organization to match, and we are a smaller independent vendor. If vendor scale is your primary risk control, that is a legitimate reason to choose differently, and we would rather say so than pretend otherwise. The console at the top of this page runs against real content if you would rather test it than read about it.

Good questions

Questions about Atlassian Rovo pricing

Yes. The Atlassian Rovo pricing page states that Rovo, including Search, Chat and Studio apps as well as agents, is available to customers with a Standard, Premium or Enterprise Cloud plan, and that no separate Rovo purchase is required. It applies to Jira, Confluence and Jira Service Management. Free Cloud plans are not included, and usage is governed by an AI credit allowance tied to your tier and user count.
There is no per-user Rovo price. Rovo is bundled into the paid Cloud plans, so the cost is the cost of your Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management plan. The only published per-user figure in the Rovo family is Rovo Dev at $20 per developer per month, which is a separate coding assistant rather than the workplace search product.
No. Reported credit behavior is that the allowance pools across the whole organization, resets at the end of each billing cycle and does not carry forward, so an unused allowance is lost rather than banked. Atlassian documents the mechanism but does not publish the per-tier allowance figures on its pricing page.
As reported in 2026, requests above the allowance still go through and Atlassian is not billing for the overage. Atlassian has said it will give at least 90 days notice and require an explicit opt-in before overage becomes billable. Rovo Dev is already billed, at $0.01 per credit beyond its included 2,000 credits per developer.
Because they could not be verified against an Atlassian page. The plan inclusion wording and every Rovo Dev figure were read from atlassian.com on August 16, 2026 and are quoted. The per-tier credit allowances of 25, 70 and 150 appear consistently in third-party write-ups but on no Atlassian page we could retrieve, so they are presented as a planning estimate rather than as fact.
Yes, through a trial of a Standard, Premium or Enterprise plan of Jira, Confluence or Jira Service Management, since Rovo comes with those plans. Rovo Dev has its own 30-day free trial for new Standard customers. There is no permanent free Rovo tier for companies that are not Atlassian customers.
It depends where your answers live. For companies whose knowledge sits in Jira and Confluence, Rovo is strong and already paid for. For companies whose answers are spread across Slack, Google Drive, Notion, Gmail and Salesforce, Rovo covers one corner of the problem, and a cross-app search tool that reads all of those sources in one query is the closer fit.

Explore more

More ways teams find answers with InSearch

Give your team one place to find every answer.

One search across all your company apps, a clear cited answer, scoped to exactly what each person can see, and never trained on your data.

See pricing

One search across every app · cited answers · permission-aware · never trains on your data